Cox and Powers

New Changes to Reform Act

There have been recent significant changes in the alimony laws, known as the Reform Act.

The new law went into effect on March 1, 2012. Under the new act, there are four categories of alimony. They are: General Term Alimony, Rehabilitation Alimony, Reimbursement Alimony and Transitional Alimony. The circumstances of each marriage dictates the type of alimony, if any, awarded.

The new alimony law also effects when alimony can cease. Under the new law, alimony may cease as a result of a number of events, including but not limited to reaching full retirement age. Co-habitation of the recipient could also be a cause for alimony to cease under certain forms of alimony. In addition, alimony orders issued prior to the Reform Act may be modifiable depending on the change of circumstances and whether the individual case fits the requirements of the new law.

Judgments of alimony prior to March 1 2012 may be modifiable on or after a specified date depending on certain circumstances.

Posted: to General News on Mon, Apr 4, 2011
Updated: Fri, Nov 21, 2014

Cox and Powers

377 Main Street Suite 5, Greenfield, MA 01301 -- 413-773-5007

Contact Us

Admin Login